Strength in numbers.

Strength in numbers.

Nearly 6,000 members and growing.

IRSPA Membership

The Iowa Retired School Personnel Association (IRSPA) welcomes all retired school employees from any public or non-public Iowa educational institution— community school districts, licensed preschools, and daycares, area education agencies, community colleges, colleges, university, or Iowa Department of Education. Active Members may have served their institution in many ways [administrator, bus driver, cook, counselors, custodian, department chair, instructional aides, intermediate service agency staff (aides, audiologists, consultants, directors, media personnel, psychologists, social workers, speech/language therapists) maintenance, media personnel, nurse, office staff, paraprofessionals, professor, secretary, security personnel, and teacher] and all are eligible to join IRSPA.

In addition, an Associate Membership is open to anyone who supports education including any current school personnel. Associate Members are entitled to the same benefits as Active Members.

Membership is open to those who worked in public libraries.  This is a Public Librarian membership. 

Life Membership is open to any active or associate membership upon payment of $300.


The state is divided into six districts; three across the northern tier of the state and three across the southern portion of the state. Most local units encompass county(ies) and/or larger districts.

If you would be interested in joining a local unit near your hometown, check the following list:

Appanoose – Wayne County - $7
Big Four Area (Charles City Area) - $5
Black Hawk County - $10
Boone County - $10
Carroll – Greene County - $3
Cedar Rapids Area -
Cedar Valley (Osage to Cresco) - $5
Cherokee (County) Unit - $5
Clarke (County) Area - $15
Clinton County - $5
Council Bluffs Area - $5
Crawford County - $5
Creston Area - $3
Dallas County –
Davenport Area - $10

Davis County - $8
Decatur County - $3
Des Moines Area - $18
Des Moines County - $15
Dubuque Area - $3
Estherville Area - $5
Henry County - $5
Humboldt Area - $2
Iowa Great Lakes Area - $8
Jackson County -
Jasper County - $10
Jefferson County - $3
Johnson County - $5
Keokuk County - $15
Lee County - $5
Lucas County –

Mahaska County - $0. No dues
Marion County Area– $5
Marshall County -
Mason City Area - $10
Monroe County –
Muscatine Area - $5
Oelwein Area –
Poweshiek Area -
Scenic City Area (Iowa Falls Area) -$8
Sioux City Area - $5
Van Buren County - $8
Wapello County - $5
Webster County - $12
West Union Area - $10
Winneshiek County -

Contact the District Coordinator of the unit nearest your home. All six district coordinators' phone numbers are listed on the Leadership page. When you find the coordinator for the district nearest your home, call that coordinator and they will do their best to help you.

Types of IRSPA Memberships:

  • Annual membership for Active, Associate, or Librarian is $15.00 (Payable by October 1, of each year)
  • Life membership $300.00

Use our online signup form:

Purchase or renew membership online