CONSTITUTION of the JEFFERSON COUNTY UNIT of the IOWA RETIRED SCHOOL PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION

ARTICLE I - NAME

The name of this unit shall be Jefferson County Iowa Retired School Personnel Association.

ARTICLE II – PURPOSE

The purpose of this unit shall be the promotion of the social, educational, and economic welfare of its members.

ARTICLE III – MEMBERSHIP

SECTION 1. Any retired employee of the nation's schools shall be eligible for membership. SECTION 2. Associate membership shall be open to spouses and anyone else who is interested in the work of the unit.

ARTICLE IV - OFFICERS

SECTION 1. The offcers of this unit shall be president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer. These offcers also shall constitute the Executive Board.

SECTION 2. An assistant shall be appointed to help an offcer with the duties of the offce if that offcer requests it.

ARTICLE V – MEETINGS

SECTION 1. The schedule of meetings for the year are presented in the yearbook of the unit. SECTION 2. Quorum shall be the number of members who are present at the regularly scheduled meeting for the transaction of business. SECTION 3. The decision to cancel a meeting is the responsibility of the Executive Board.

ARTICLE VI – AMENDMENTS

The Constitution and Bylaws may be amended by a majority vote at a regular or special meeting provided that a written notice of the proposed amendment and the time and place of the meeting have been presented to the members not less than two weeks before the fnal vote.

BYLAWS

ARTICLE I – MEMBERSHIP FEES

SECTION 1. The annual local dues of active or associate members shall be \$3.00 and state dues \$15.00 both

payable May 1 and delinquent after July 31.

SECTION 2. A member may pay state and local dues after the July 31 deadline; however, personal information will not be included in the yearbook because of the printing schedule. SECTION 3. Special assessments may be levied as necessary by vote of members.

ARTICLE II – ELECTIONS

SECTION 1. All offcers shall be elected at the May business meeting from the list of names submitted by the nominating committee at the April meeting.

SECTION 2. No person shall be nominated by the committee or from the foor without his or her consent. SECTION 3. The term of offce shall be for two years. New offcers shall be installed and take offce after the fnal meeting of the year.

ARTICLE III – DUTIES OF OFFICERS

SECTION 1. The President shall preside at all meetings of the association, the Executive Board, the Executive Committee, any special meeting, and perform duties that are the usual obligation of a president.

- SECTION 2. The Vice President shall serve as Program chairperson, and in the event of the inability of the president to serve, shall perform the duties of the president.
- SECTION 3. The Secretary shall keep correct minutes of all meetings.
- SECTION 4. The Treasurer shall receive and keep a record of all monies paid into the association. He/She shall pay all bills upon authorization of the president.
- SECTION 5. The Executive Board, consisting of the elected offcers of the association, shall make decisions when necessary, appoint new committees as needed, and appoint a replacement to fll an unexpired term of offce.

ARTICLE IV - COMMITTEES

- SECTION 1. The Executive Committee shall consist of the Executive Board and Chairpersons of the Standing Committees.
- SECTION 2. The Standing Committees shall include Program, Membership, Legislation, Health Care, Sunshine, Librarian, Publicity, Prayer, Historian, Yearbook, Nominations, and Callers.

ARTICLE V – DISSOLUTION

Deposition of assets in the event of dissolution of the IRSPA unit of Jefferson County shall be transferred to IRSPA, the AARP Foundation, a local scholarship fund, or any educational or civic nonproft entity. Assets cannot be transferred to individuals.